Return to Headlines

Amy Williams named F1S Assistant Principal of the Year


Dr. Richard O’Malley, Superintendent of Florence 1 Schools, announced today that Amy Williams, Assistant Principal of McLaurin Elementary School, has been named the Florence 1 Schools 2022-2023 Assistant Principal of the Year.  Nominated for this recognition by a group of her peers, including fellow assistant principals and school administrators in Florence One, Assistant Principal Williams has served at McLaurin since the year 1995.

Amy has been at McLaurin for over 20 years.  She began as a teacher, later moved to Curriculum Coordinator and now serves as one of our Assistant Principals,” said McLaurin Elementary School Principal Deborah Cribb.  “In every position she has held at McLaurin, it has always been about helping our students and staff be the best they could be.  She wears many hats at McLaurin, and she is an invaluable part of our Leadership Team.  She works well with everyone and can be counted on to always go the extra mile for our students.  We are so blessed to have her at McLaurin!

Amy Williams is an outstanding assistant principal who demonstrates curriculum knowledge, positive attitude, effective communication skills, and she builds authentic relationships with all stakeholders at McLaurin,” said Michelle McBride, Assistant Superintendent for K-5 Instruction. "Mrs. Williams is a key component to the success at McLaurin Elementary School, and she is deserving of this award” added McBride.


I am thrilled that Ms. Amy Williams is Assistant Principal of the Year for Florence 1 Schools,” noted a parent of a student at McLaurin.  “She is so deserving-- going above and beyond every day to help things run smoothly at McLaurin. My son absolutely loves Ms. Williams and looks forward to seeing her at school.”

On Tuesday afternoon at McLaurin Elementary amidst teachers, staff and school administrators, Dr. O’Malley congratulated Williams for receipt of this honor. He also announced that Assistant Principal Williams will now vie for the title of South Carolina Assistant Principal of the Year through the South Carolina School Administrators’ Principal of the Year awards program.