• Our History

    On December 13, 2012, at a Florence 1 Schools Board of Trustees meeting, Mrs. Pat Gibson-Hye Moore made a motion to name the former Byrnes School (which the district had purchased) after Alfred Rush. Board member Alexis D. Pipkins, Sr. seconded the motion. The motion carried by unanimous vote.

    Alfred Rush (d. 1876) was an African-American state representative who served for two terms during Reconstruction. Despite being born into slavery and facing social challenges as a person of mixed-race, Rush represented what was then Darlington County in the S.C. House from 1868-70 and again from 1874-76, and was also a deacon at Savannah Grove Baptist Church. 

    On March 14, 2014, the South Carolina House of Representatives adopted a bill in memory of Alfred Rush’s efforts to bring about free public education for all in South Carolina. A historical marker in Florence County memorializes his life and death.


    The following was introduced:

    1. 4834 (Word version) -- Reps. Alexander, Mitchell, Williams, Allison, Anderson, Anthony, Atwater, Bales, Ballentine, Bannister, Barfield, Bedingfield, Bernstein, Bingham, Bowen, Bowers, Branham, Brannon, G. A. Brown, R. L. Brown, Burns, Chumley, Clemmons, Clyburn, Cobb-Hunter, Cole, H. A. Crawford, K. R. Crawford, Crosby, Daning, Delleney, Dillard, Douglas, Edge, Erickson, Felder, Finlay, Forrester, Funderburk, Gagnon, Gambrell, George, Gilliard, Goldfinch, Govan, Hamilton, Hardee, Hardwick, Harrell, Hart, Hayes, Henderson, Herbkersman, Hiott, Hixon, Hodges, Horne, Hosey, Howard, Huggins, Jefferson, Kennedy, King, Knight, Limehouse, Loftis, Long, Lowe, Lucas, Mack, McCoy, McEachern, M. S. McLeod, W. J. McLeod, Merrill, D. C. Moss, V. S. Moss, Munnerlyn, Murphy, Nanney, Neal, Newton, Norman, Norrell, R. L. Ott, Owens, Parks, Patrick, Pitts, Pope, Putnam, Quinn, Ridgeway, Riley, Rivers, Robinson-Simpson, Rutherford, Ryhal, Sabb, Sandifer, Sellers, Simrill, Skelton, G. M. Smith, G. Smith, J. E. Smith, J. R. Smith, Sottile, Southard, Spires, Stavrinakis, Stringer, Tallon, Taylor, Thayer, Toole, Vick, Weeks, Wells, Whipper, White, Whitmire, Willis and Wood: A HOUSE RESOLUTION TO REMEMBER AND CELEBRATE THE LIFE OF THE HONORABLE ALFRED RUSH, MEMBER OF THE SOUTH CAROLINA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES (1868-1870, 1874-1876) AND PIONEER IN THE ESTABLISHMENT OF FREE PUBLIC EDUCATION FOR ALL IN SOUTH CAROLINA.

     The Resolution was adopted. (House Journal-page 72)